Sandbox Within A Sandbox

I realized something when I despaired that my sandbox campaign was too far-flung and didn’t have enough cool adventure sites in it, and those adventure sites weren’t expansive enough, so you end up with scattered sites 2-4 (5-mile) hexes apart wherein each location has 1-6 sessions of adventure possibility.

I fixed the first problem by adding random site encounters and expanding random monster encounters on the fly when I roll that the creature was near its lair. These both end up becoming new sites that I add to the map.

I just realized the fix for the second problem. Before I thought of each adventure site as a little nugget based on one or two cool things that I wanted to place. But you have up to 5 miles to explore. Why not design the adventure site like a little sandbox? This follows the module design for Isle of Dread, Lost City, and Dwellers of the Forbidden City. And now that I type this, I realize that I have already dropped a bunch of these down without thinking, and didn’t remember them because I haven’t gone through any effort to develop them yet.

I made the connection when I thought, maybe I need to refine the sandbox arena to a more densely-detailed smaller locale, like a single mountain valley or something. I have some initial notes for a bunch of these campaigns. Why not just cram the valley sandbox into my big sandbox?

I don’t need to be careful about the adventurers getting sidetracked in an offbeat site that has a lot of depth. It happened accidentally with the Sunken Grove, which was the first dungeon explored on the very first game session, plumbed down to Level 3 but not completely explored (chased off by Mushroom Men). The party returned with a different composition later and scoured Level 1 and 2 again, not discovering the entrances to Level 3. Now they’re back.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Sandbox Within A Sandbox”

  1. Jack Colby Says:

    That’s a very good idea, actually. And it would allow for ll the DM’s varied ideas to be used in one larger overall setting instead of facing burnout or wanting to “start over” as a new campaign setting.

  2. Ryan Says:

    Yo dawg, I heard you like sandboxes…

  3. 1d30 Says:

    I’m waiting for someone to make a dungeon adventure with an actual sandbox in it, as in a plank tray on the floor with sand in it and children’s toys.

    THAT LOOK JUST LIKE THE PCS!! AAAAAH! D:

Leave a Reply

